Rock ‘n’ roll…underground

9 Jul

Late last December, I was invited to film an intimate and exclusive I Mother Earth show at the coolest concert venue ever: The Diefenbunker, a Cold War-era nuclear fallout shelter. IME is my husband’s favourite band and when I had contacted them about getting tickets, the band invited us to not only attend the show but to hangout with them backstage…as long as I brought my vintage movie cameras. Deal!

pregnant filmmaker

So armed with a few rolls of film, a hand-cranked 16mm bolex, and a huge belly (I was 8 months pregnant at the time), I navigated my way through 200 rabid fans to experience a night my husband and I won’t soon forget. All thanks to this super cool Canadian band.

Fans of IME knows that they’re really talented musicians, but that evening we discovered that they’re are incredibly nice guys too!


~ Filmed on Kodak 16mm film ~

6 Responses to “Rock ‘n’ roll…underground”

  1. Anonymous July 11, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    You did a wonderful job with the video!!

  2. Mark July 11, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Kav July 11, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    Beautifully shot. I love IME’s passion and presence on stage and off. Thank you!

  4. Nancy July 11, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Thanks for this. Nice work. A treat for those of us who didn’t get to be there.

  5. Christopher July 9, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    The best thing you’ve ever done. And that’s saying a lot…

  6. Anonymous July 9, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    Another FIRST CLASS & First Kiss WINNER, & what a TERRIFIC group…
    Sorry I missed it live.
    GREAT job Mama Bridget.

Comments are closed.

