Family First Films

13 Sep

Weddings aren’t the only magical time in our lives. We often overlook the everyday beauty that surrounds us and don’t recognize how precious moments are until they’ve already passed us by.  With that in mind, I’m proud to introduce a new service called the “Family First” film.

I’m hoping, in my own little way, to reignite people’s excitement about home movies – the same way I want to create wedding films that can be appreciated by anyone, not just the bride and groom, over and over again. The lovely Brooks family asked me and my vintage cameras to hangout with them (and document the most incredible tree-house I have ever seen…hand-made by poppa Leo!) on a midsummer evening, and the result is something I hope they can enjoy as much today as they can in 10, 20 and 50 years.

There are endless possible themes for family films beyond just parties and celebrations. A custom film can be inspired by a season, a favorite activity, a holiday, a meaningful location…or as you’ll see in the sample below, just a regular day hanging out in your backyard. Now any day can be that special day you’ll remember forever.

I can’t wait to spend some time with you and your loved ones and help capture some of the amazing big and little moments life has to offer.
xo Bridget


~ Filmed on Kodak 16mm and super 8mm film ~

13 Responses to “Family First Films”

  1. First Kiss Films September 20, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Thanks to everyone for your comments! This was the first time I became teary-eyed watching the raw footage once it had returned from the lab. (And yes, most of the family is actually sleeping in that last shot).

    And of course a big thank you to you Mary for asking me to capture the incredible sweetness of your family’s day-to-day life!

  2. Bryan Farr September 16, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Absolutely “Brillant”!
    You have reached another level with this film;
    by capturing the love in a family’s day.
    It will bring them everlasting memories they
    will allways cherish.

  3. Amna Hakim September 15, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    omgggg bridgettt this is the cutest most sweetest thing ever!!! they are going to cherish this one for life!!!!!! you are amazing!

  4. Christopher September 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    El Oh, Vee Eee, this whole, movie….

  5. Jenn Farr September 15, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Beautiful!!! Fun and entertaining <3

  6. chelsyanne September 14, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    I know what we will now be doing with you, as we are still 5 years away from our 10 year wedding anniversary remake wedding!

    Beautiful work Bridget!

  7. Anonymous (Brendan) September 14, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Awesome!

  8. Chantal Bennett-Kimmel September 14, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Love it, love it, love it! I so regret not having you at our wedding this summer. You have a real talent for timing.

  9. The Brooks Family September 14, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Thank you Bridget for capturing our lives — the love, the smiles, and the all little details that make our family who were are.

  10. Anne-Marie September 14, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    Beautiful. I could watch it over and over again. How do you make the music match the film so perfectly? Loved it.

    • Kelvin September 14, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      Grampa Johnson and loved has read and loved this most lovely celebration of the joy of your lives and loves. Thanks for sharing with us your images. They freshen my August memories of your Ottawa back yard and our time in Montreal.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Featured on Girl About Otown! « { First Kiss Films } Vintage Wedding Cinematography - September 28, 2010

    […] mundane moments into extraordinary memories that will last forever.  I watched in awe as “An evening with the Brooks Family” unfolded on film, and found myself desperately wanting one for me and my three!  I think if you […]

  2. The Eyes Behind {First Kiss Films} | Girl About O-Town - September 28, 2010

    […] my delight when I read of her latest endeavour, a new service called the Family First Film.  It seems Bridget has decided to apply her gifted eye to everyday lives.  Building on […]

Comments are closed.

