iheartmom

9 May

Looking to give a meaningful Mother’s Day gift this year? How about making a donation in your mom’s name towards heart health research?

The University of Ottawa Heart Institute recently released this touching video as part of their iheartmom.ca campaign. The video features Olympic figure skating Bronze Medallist Joannie Rochette raising awareness for the number one killer of women. It will likely be an especially difficult Mother’s Day for Joannie whose mother suddenly died during the Olympic games from an undiagnosed heart condition.


The campaign focuses on women because heart disease is often associated with men. Personally, when I hear of heart conditions, I usually assume people are talking about men, partially because a few years ago my father had serious heart issues but has since become a spokesperson for health.

(You might be wondering what my dad is holding in the image on the right – it’s a pogo stick! You might assume that the pogo stick was selected for the image as a metaphor for youthful physical fitness but actually it is used as part of my dad’s workout regimen).

There is one extra reason why { First Kiss Films } is sharing the iheartmom video: my hubby wrote and directed it!

2 Responses to “iheartmom”

  1. Bryan May 11, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    The pogo stick was incorporated into my re-hab for my re-constructed arthritic ankle one year after the heart surgery and it is a GREAT cardio workout. It also REALLY helped to rebuild my heart.

  2. Holly May 11, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    Nice. It’s great to see you and Christopher busy makin stuff.

Comments are closed.

