Hoping Oscar night will be Precious

7 Mar

I try to see all best picture nominations before the Academy Awards show. Although this year with twice as many films that means twice as many visits to the theatre. Not that I mind!

The film I’m rooting for this year is Precious – in my mind it really is a perfect film. This film is nominated for six Academy Awards in all highly deserving categories including best picture!

There is so much I love about this film. Right from the opening credits, the audience is effortlessly transported into Precious’ world. The film’s overall visual treatment is detailed, deep, dark, and buttery. And the layering of narration over character’s dialogue is just brilliant.

Speaking of sound, the use of upbeat music during difficult scenes (a technique I’ve seen before, possibly most memorably by Tarantino – although I feel his treatment makes light of the violence on screen). In Precious, the music mirrors the character’s perseverance and reflects their internal strength. It also helps the audience stomach what’s happening on-screen.

Lenny Kravitz and Mariah Carey are both unrecognizable in cameos and, like the rest of the cast, their performance is authentic and flawless. How can I not attribute this to great direction?

There are other great films which are also nominated for best picture. But I find it dumbfounding that The Blind Side is nominated in the same category. It’s a fine film, but after seeing Precious, The Blind Side feels stiff, contrived and artificial.

Precious is the best film I have seen this year and now has a spot in my top 25 favorite films of all time. I sure hope it gets the recognition it deserves.

P.S. I also got the chance to see all the live-action films that have been nominated and I’m hoping that Miracle Fish will win over the Academy. However, I can’t help but be reminded of all the wonderful films from around the globe that are overlooked each year.  Maybe next year they will double the number of short films that are nominated as well?

