A fiery proposal one year ago today

13 Feb

Where it all began: at peak of volcano right under the erected cross

Wedding anniversaries are special. But I haven’t reached my one-year yet, so tonight I will be celebrating the day my husband proposed.

Last February my then boyfriend Christopher whisked me off to Nicaragua so we could escape the dark & chilly days of winter. Little did I know that this trip was just part of his bigger plan! A few days in, he arranged for us to take a private tour to check out a few incredible sights, including a last stop at an active volcano. We climbed the many stone steps to the very top and you can guess what happened next…

So, exactly one year ago today, on Friday, February 13, 2009 and defying superstition, Christopher got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife. Seven months later, we were married!

If you have a proposal story to share, I’d love to hear it!

Bridget

2 Responses to “A fiery proposal one year ago today”

  1. First Kiss Films February 15, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    Awww…such a sweet proposal! I think getting engaged on water is very romantic. :)

  2. Anne-Marie February 14, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    What a wonderful love story!

    My sweetie proposed on our first trip together to the big apple. He totally surprised me (very hard to do by the way) by pulling a sparkling ring from his pocket while we were on the Staten Island Ferry. It happened so fast that I couldn’t stop giggling and saying, “just like that?” He said, “Yep, just like that!” We were married just over a year later and I’ve never been happier :)

Comments are closed.

